Is Najwa Zebian poised to be the next Rupi Kaur? | Quill and Quire

With more than 700,000 Instagram followers and some celebrity fans behind her, is Lebanese-Canadian poet Najwa Zebian poised to be the next Rupi Kaur?

Q&A: Lawyer Lisa Jean Helps on CanLit, #MeToo, and defamation laws | Quill and Quire

Vancouver lawyer and creative-writing grad Lisa Jean Helps is offering 30-minute pro bono consultations for anyone who has received a cease and desist letter related to speaking up about an assault.

Public Lending Right announces 25-year cap for older titles, introduces audiobooks to the program | Quill and Quire

PLR cheques went in the mail today, along with letters introducing some major changes to the program.

This week in CanKidLit | Quill and Quire

New in Canadian kids' book news this week: Free posters from Elise Gravel, a new audiobook from Margaret Atwood, and a big win for #NotYourPrincess

The Boat People | Quill and Quire

"The most striking aspect of The Boat People lies in its quietly confident understanding that everyone is complicit in systems of racial and ethnic violence."

Q&A: Canadian writers reflect on the "Ins, Outs, Ups, and Downs of Marriage" in new non-fiction and poetry anthology | Quill and Quire

A Valentine's Day gift from Caitlin Press for all those who love Canadian writing.

Q&A: Debut author Djamila Ibrahim on her new collection, Things Are Good Now | Quill and Quire

Djamila Ibrahim left behind a government career to focus on her true passion, writing. Her risk paid off.

Take Q&Q's 2018 salary survey | Quill and Quire

Back by popular demand! It's been five years since Q&Q's last book-industry salary survey. It's a quick one, and your input will help develop an accurate snapshot of what it's like to work in Canadian publishing today.

Loan Stars: Librarians pick their favourite upcoming March titles | Quill and Quire

Librarians are excited for upcoming March titles by Sarah Henstra, Nathan Ripley, and Ray Robertson.

Illustrators come together for the Totsapalooza colouring book honouring Groundwood publisher Sheila Barry | Quill and Quire

Small Print Toronto found a very special way to pay tribute to kidlit publisher Sheila Barry. (illustration by Sydney Smith)

It's Q&Q's kidlit spotlight featuring Christopher Paul Curtis, Rachel Hartman, books and bullies, and more. On newsstands now!

Book "nerds" rule the day at the Kids' Lit Quiz | Quill and Quire

Kidlit authors Natale Ghent, Kevin Sylvester, Richard Scrimger, and Kevin Sands share their experiences taking on young readers at the Toronto qualifier.

Indigo reports strong third-quarter revenues and "biggest holiday to date" | Quill and Quire

Once again, Indigo reports its highest ever quarterly revenues, while looking forward to rolling out its cultural department store concept to 20 more locations.

Elisabeth de Mariaffi: weighting the purpose of the Staunch Prize with the need for "smart stories that don't falsely do away with the reality of violence in women's lives" | Quill and Quire

A new lit prize out of the U.K. will honour books in which no female character may be “beaten, stalked, sexually exploited, raped or murdered.” Author Elisabeth de Mariaffi would rather see more stories that reflect the reality of violence in women's lives.

Hysteria | Quill and Quire

Elisabeth de Mariaffi's "Hysteria not only provides the thrills of a suspenseful, disturbing read. On a deeper level, the novel highlights the manipulation, coercion, and abuse of women that, sadly, remains an urgent issue today."

Sam Maggs brings fangirl feminism to the OLA | Quill and Quire

Ultimate fangirl Sam Maggs is ready for her OLA Super Conference debut. But first she talks graphic novels, video games, and Victorian fiction with Q&Q.

This week in CanKidLit | Quill and Quire

Cap off a long week with a recap of kidlit news, including a sneak look at Jillian Tamaki's poster for Children's Book Week.

Spring Preview 2018: Books for Young People | Quill and Quire

Check out what's in store this season for new and discerning readers.

Zolitude | Quill and Quire

A starred review for Paige Cooper's debut story collection, which reviewer Andre Forget calls an "intoxicating read."

Kobo kicks off Originals audiobook program with Zoe Whittall's The Best Kind of People | Quill and Quire

Kobo is now producing its own audiobook content, starting with Zoe Whittall's The Best Kind of People.

Charlie Kaufman to adapt Iain Reid's novel I'm Thinking of Ending Things for Netflix | Quill and Quire

"I was just happy and flattered that he'd even read it," says the debut novelist about Being John Malkovich director Charlie Kaufman.

Writer Nancy Richler remembered as a "generous person and a tremendously gifted novelist" | Quill and Quire

Friends and colleagues remember Nancy Richler as "compassionate and caring, while remaining fiercely committed to her craft."

Totsapalooza is turning 10 | Quill and Quire

The cool kids' event is all grown up. Where else can you perform “The Alligator Pie Blues" with Dennis Lee?

2017 Books of the Year: Hollywood joins Deborah Ellis's fight to create stories that make a difference | Quill and Quire

Roll out the red carpet: The adaptation of Deborah Ellis's The Breadwinner is up for an Academy Award.

Spring Preview 2018: Non-fiction | Quill and Quire

A look ahead at a season filled with provocative stories and insights.

This Is All a Lie | Quill and Quire

A starred review for Thomas Trofimuk's "powerful, dazzling accomplishment."

Quill & Quire

Update: there are more than 600 signatures now, which means this petition will go to the House of Commons.

Federal petition seeks GST exemption, preferential postal rates, and tax credits for books | Quill and Quire

Approximately another 150 signatures are needed to get this petition in front of the House of Commons.

Renovations complete on Dartmouth's innovative outdoor library | Quill and Quire

Dartmouth readers will have to wait patiently for better weather to take advantage of their new outdoor library space.

Provocative interdisciplinary artist Jordan Tannahill on his debut novel, Liminal | Quill and Quire

Jordan Tannahill has a new book out this week, and his new production debuts at Canadian Stage.

How Nathan Ripley subverts genre conventions in his debut thriller, Find You in the Dark | Quill and Quire

Q&Q's Spring Preview continues with Naben Ruthnum, author of the debut thriller Find You in the Dark, written under the pseudonym Nathan Ripley.

Antigone Undone: Juliette Binoche, Anne Carson, Ivo Van Hove and the Art of Resistance | Quill and Quire

"This thoughtful and disturbing memoir poignantly illustrates how, for good or ill, the power of art can transform human understanding."

PEN Canada releases statement on calls to take down UBC Accountable | Quill and Quire

While there have been calls to take down the UBC Accountable site, a new name has been added to the signatory list: Laura Kipnis, U.S. author of Unwanted Advances: Sexual Paranoia Comes to Campus.

Spring Preview 2018: Fiction | Quill and Quire

Kicking off Q&Q's spring preview coverage with a selection of the season's most-anticipated fiction and poetry.

Indigo to open flagship store on Vancouver's Robson Street this fall | Quill and Quire

Indigo is returning to Robson Street in a big way, with a 29,000-square-foot retail space currently occupied by fast-fashion chain Forever 21.

Nadia Hohn: Remembering diverse-kidlit hero and Groundwood publisher Sheila Barry | Quill and Quire

Malaika’s Costume author Nadia Hohn remembers Groundwood publisher Sheila Barry: "I have a renewed fire inside me to continue her legacy of diverse children’s literature."

WOTS Toronto hires poet David Alexander as festival director | Quill and Quire

Word on the Street Toronto has hired the former director of the Toronto Vegetarian Association as its new leader.

Edmonton airport gets short story vending machine | Quill and Quire

A French company is putting a new spin on airport reads.

Women writers offering services, financial assistance to help others amid Concordia sexual misconduct allegations | Quill and Quire

A handful of authors are taking action in hopes of providing emerging writers with new opportunities. Could this be the start of a new movement?

Fighting for Space: How a Group of Drug Users Transformed One City's Struggle with Addiction | Quill and Quire

Travis Lupick’s book does not shy away from the negative, but the lingering feeling the reader is left with is one of hope.

B.C. government soliciting feedback on post-secondary institution sexual violence and misconduct policies | Quill and Quire

The B.C. government is looking for student, staff, and faculty input into their schools' sexual violence and misconduct policies.

Invisible Publishing ceases sale of Mike Spry titles | Quill and Quire

A week after Mike Spry posted his CanLit Accountable essay on witnessing sexual misconduct at Concordia University, referring to his own books as a "transactional reward for preserving the cultural and institutional privilege of an undeserving few," his publisher has cut ties with him.

Ordinary, Extraordinary Jane Austen | Quill and Quire

Two new swoon-worthy picture books to read on a cold day.

Anansi reveals cover for TV tie-in edition of Lisa Moore's Caught | Quill and Quire

Travel back to the '70s with this new cover for Lisa Moore's novel Caught.

Festival of Literary Diversity launches new reading series in Brampton | Quill and Quire

Writers at the Rose will pair up high-profile interviewers and writers, starting with Karl Subban on Feb. 8.

Q&A: Kelvin Kong on launching K2 Literary agency | Quill and Quire

Toronto agent Kelvin Kong has set up his own shop, K2 Literary.

The Fox and the Fisherman | Quill and Quire

In the tradition of Wilbur and Fern, Marianne Dumas's debut picture book features an interspecies friendship.

Purple Books